Wednesday 2 November 2016

Passion for teaching is why ACT's best teachers receive national awards

Three outstanding teachers who have made an impact in their local communities throughout the Australian Capital Territory have been honoured with ASG National Excellence in Teaching Awards (NEiTA).

They are among 60 state and territory recipients to be awarded the prestigious honour selected from almost 1350 community nominations.

Now in its 22nd year, ASG NEiTA gives parents, grandparents, school boards and councils and committees of management the opportunity to formally thank and recognise outstanding and dedicated teachers, who are passionate about driving a world class education system and encouraging students to reach their full potential.

ASG NEITA Chief Executive Officer, John Velegrinis says community recognition is very powerful and the three ASG NEITA recipients should be proud of the impact they're making at the grassroots level and beyond.

"Communities are deeply engaged in education matters and in some cases, they can be the richest educational resources, so I congratulate them for really making a difference in their local communities. We say that education is one of the most critical investments that parents, families and communities can make, but we need teachers like our ASG NEiTA recipients to drive this education and really invest in nation building through our young people.

We recently launched the second edition of the ASG Parents Report Card which reveals parents' support for their child's teacher continues to grow, with 91 per cent believing their child's teacher is very capable. This is really encouraging especially when teachers tell us they're bogged down in teaching an overloaded curriculum, whilst managing time constraints and trying to accommodate for the specific needs of each child."

The awards are separated into early childhood, primary and secondary categories.

ASG NEiTA chairman, Allen Blewitt says the awards also highlight the positive relationships which have been built.

"ASG NEITA is one of the only channels where the community gets to express their gratitude through nominating an inspirational teacher, educator, principal or centre director. These awards go from strength-to-strength because they celebrate outstanding teachers whose positive influence can last a lifetime."





The NEiTA Foundation is proudly supported and administered by the Australian Scholarships Group Friendly Society Limited ABN 21 087 648 879, a registered member owned organisation. Registered Office 23-35 Hanover St Oakleigh Vic Australia 3166 Email: publicrelations@asg.com.au Phone: 03 9276 7520 Website: asg.com.au/neita New South Wales had 15 ASG NEiTA recipients, followed by 11 in Victoria, 10 for Western Australia, nine for Queensland (9), South Australia (5), Northern Territory (4), and three for Tasmania.

ASG NEITA will announce the national award recipients in March 2017. Professional development and project grants are available at the national award level, as well as one lucky teacher getting the opportunity to go to Space Camp in the United States.

A full list of the 60 state and territory <u>ASG NEiTA recipients</u> is available.

View the <u>teacher profiles</u> by state and territory and find out what makes them exceptional teachers.

Australian Capital Territory			
Teacher	School	Postcode	Category
Lyn Cleaver	Gowrie Primary School	2904	Early childhood
Julie Ferguson	Hughes Primary School	2605	Primary
Matthew Holdway	Theodore Primary School	2905	Primary

ENDS.

For more information, please contact:

Nicole Gundi Media and Communications Adviser 0448 167 578 asgcommunications@asg.com.au

Editors notes:

The Australian Scholarships Group (ASG) is a member owned organisation, helping to create educational opportunities for children. ASG has been helping families and their children for more than 40 years. During this time, more than 530,000 children have been enrolled with ASG and more than \$2.5 billion in education benefits and scholarship payments returned to members.

The ASG National Excellence in Teaching Awards (NEiTA) started in 1994 in Australia and 1996 in New Zealand. Since inception, more than 30,000 teachers have been nominated by the community in the two countries.

For more information visit: <u>www.asg.com.au</u>.





The NEiTA Foundation is proudly supported and administered by the Australian Scholarships Group Friendly Society Limited ABN 21 087 648 879, a registered member owned organisation. Registered Office 23-35 Hanover St Oakleigh Vic Australia 3166 Email: publicrelations@asg.com.au Phone: 03 9276 7520 Website: asg.com.au/neita